Safe versus Sorry!


 

Better 2 B Safe Than Sorry
Image by Graham Ballantyne via Flickr

 

“How do I look?”

We are all familiar with this line. Even one of the geico commercials depicts a variation of this scenario when honest Abe risks the truth about his wife’s outfit making her look fat that results with his wife haughtily walking off.

Having four sisters has led to my being an accomplished ‘fibber au necessaire ‘ (fib when it is most necessary. My own term). It’s just easier sometimes to be safe and tell someone what they want to hear rather than risk the misery that follows when you say what you are actually thinking.

Like when one of my friends traveled 90 miles to an outlet mall, bought an unflattering dress to wear for that special someone, for that special date that she had been hoping would happen so badly. Well, who was I to ruin it and tell her that the dress really cut her legs off giving her a stumpy look (thank you project runway) or that the strapless top of the dress made her look like an ice cream cone?

Of course I was going to play it safe than sorry. I chose to focus on how happy my friend was for finally finagling this date that I chose to tell her that she would pass master. The joy she was exuding by far outmatched the fashion fauxpar she was committing.

I felt absolved from my guilt when she landed not a second but a third date. I am not an advocate for rampant fibbing-I think they call that pathological lying-but sometimes it is better to be safe than sorry.

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “Safe versus Sorry!

  1. I would have to agree with you on this one. Sometimes it is better to be safe rather than be sorry. So if that entails having to “sugar-coat” the truth from time-to-time than so be it.

    It is always a fine balancing act that we play in our everyday interactions with others and it would be wise to pick your battles carefully for one cannot win them all. So if someone you care about is asking for advise on a life-changing decision than it would be prudent to be “sorry” or in other words to be honest. If, however, on the other hand, this person you care about is merely seeking your opinion on something less profound like fashion advice, then one may do well in some instances to borrow a leaf from the guys in those Twix candy bar commercials who when faced with a tricky question and thus needing a moment to ponder on the predicament that lies before them, chew on some candy, and kindly proceed to tell a little white lie.

    So, after all is said and done, it is ineed better to sometimes be safe rather than sorry.

    1. Thank you for your comment and I especially like the reference to the Twix commercial which is a great parody of real life quagmire. I am sure we have all experienced a ‘Twix’ moment in our lives and we all haven’t chosen the ‘honest Abe’ route.

Comments are closed.