Wake Up when You Wake Up. How conscious are you when you are awake?


A photo of The Thinker by Rodin located at the...
Image via Wikipedia

What is the first thought you have when you get up in the morning?A friend of mine told me that she honestly couldn’t remember what she thought of first thing in the morning. She also said that it wasn’t fair that I was asking this question in the evening when the  morning was so long ago. A teacher friend  said that her first thought when she got up was that she couldn’t wait to experience life. Whether this was true or not, I will never know. But this question led me to wonder just how conscious are we in our lives.

Are you conscious of life or are you letting life live you? Are you actually aware when you are awake so that you can actually experience life or have you succumbed to the automaticity of life so that most of your awake moments are actually spent asleep?

Consciousness is a topic that of course many a scientist has tried to understand and I don’t think to my knowledge any one scientist has ever fully been able to explain. The act of being conscious however, involves the action of being aware of all that is around you. By extension then, you will be experiencing life and might even have a hand in making better decisions that will alter your experiences.

All too often we get caught up with functioning and getting through the day to the detriment of the experience of living. Tolstoi in his book “My Confession” said while trying to find the meaning of life that, ‘the meaning of life is death’ . So then if the meaning of life is death, then why not make the time spent living worth it?

Being conscious, being aware, being present, whatever you want to call it involves you taking an active role in being alive. This gives you a choice, a say, in the events that you participate in. When you do this, you find that you have more recollections and make the most of what there is to experience in life.

There are things you can do to make sure that your body is prepared for a state of consciousness. In an article by Armen Shirvanian  on his site gives you ways that you can turn on your brain so that you can get the best out of your day. To be conscious and more present in life, you have to service your body. Just like a car, if you don’t take care of your body, you will be unconsciously go through life and exist under the illusion you are actually living it.

When I wake up, the first thing I do is direct my thoughts to giving thanks to God for my existence, for my family, friends, home and all the things in life I have. I choose to think that because it puts me in the frame of mind that appreciates what I have in my life and helps me focus on the actions that I will take that might directly impact those I care for.  It took me a long time to make this a habit, and I don’t do it every day, but I do it most days therefore, most days I wake up and I am conscious during those times.

So the next time you wake up, I challenge you to actually wake up! Be conscious!Don’t give up portions of your life by slipping into automaticity.Actually live life and don’t let life leave you.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Wake Up when You Wake Up. How conscious are you when you are awake?

    1. Hello BrownEyed,

      Our minds are constantly thinking and processing, even when we are asleep. Seizing the opportunity to be aware of our thoughts results in a more conscious existence; one that is fully engaged in the present.

      Thank you for your post.
      Reflecto

Leave a Reply

