Knowledge is Power-Liberating Yourself by Getting Informed


Knowledge is power. Information is liberating. Education is the premise of progress, in every society, in every family.Kofi Annan

::Books have knowledge, knowledge is power, po...
Knowledge is power.

What do you do when you are about to take a road trip? You get directions. You get supplies. You look up rest stops. You look up activities to do while traveling. You check on weather conditions. In other words you get the information to ensure safe and fun travel.

Acquiring the information has the effect of liberating you from uncertainty.

Most recently I called a lawyer querying for some advice in anticipation of a potential situation I knew might be headed my way. The lawyer offered great advice and then told me that for twelve hundred dollars he was willing to follow-up on the matter for me. Twelve hundred dollars is a lot if you are not the top 1% of the American population.  Prior to calling the lawyer the matter had seemed-to put it mildly- labyrinthian. Every attempt at understanding it seemed to make my head hurt.

Right after the mention of the fee, a spring of determination welled up in me and I resolved to trudge through the murky legal terms that seemed intended for alien eyes only. Surprisingly, and I am sure because of my change in attitude, everything started to slowly make sense and I realized that I knew what I needed to do.

Not discounting the necessity of the lawyer’s expertise, it was abundantly clear to me that spending the time to understand the information lent more clarity to my situation. It made me sure of what needed to happen next and even if I were to procure the lawyer’s services in the future, I would be an informed client who knew the expected resolution of the situation. It also had the added benefit of making me more confident and taking ownership of the situation.

It is quite common for people to place trust in others. The most common example being trust in doctors. Quite often a doctor will give a person a diagnosis with several caveats carefully placed to protect from an unforeseeable outcome. Getting  the information before hand of your diagnosis or of what medications will likely be prescribed can help you go a long way in making sure you get the right care.

Or in the case of health care insurance. A friend of mine thought they were getting the best deal when they chose the lowest deductible not keeping in mind their own medical history. When this friend went to the emergency room, they were aghast at the amount of money they had to ante up because of their poor choice of health plan.  A little researching of the different options and factoring in their medical history would have saved thousands of dollars they had to subsequently pay in the course of the following year before they could upgrade their plan.

In this day and age, most of the information we need is right at our fingertips or a phone call away. Taking the time to get the information will grow the seed of knowledge resulting in better choices.Knowledge has the power to liberate one from the yoke of ignorance. I has the additional effect of making  one a part of the process rather than a spectator.

Have an informed day won’t you?

Leave a Reply

