Walking Away; The Best Way to Come Back


Not too long ago I experienced an overwhelming urge to quit bloggingall together. I found myself asking “What is it all for?” and”Why bother?” I mean every time I looked around I saw perfectly happy people going about life doing very little but seeming being very happy about it.

St. Augustine writing, revising, and re-writin...
St. Augustine writing, revising, and re-writing

A month went by without my writing a single word. Thoroughly committed to curbing my love of writing, I  ceased all leisure reading in an effort to dull my senses into ‘not’ writing. I found myself actively ignoring the myriad topics floating around in my head jostling and begging for a chance to be immortalized in the form of words.

What ended up happening instead was that I found writing content everywhere.  In the bits of information as I passed people in the trail running. In the mall as I watched the disgruntled service agents struggling to reflect interest in whatever mundane request they had to respond to. Content was even in the dialogue between myself and my son as I tried to explain why it wasn’t the worst thing in the world if he didn’t get all the Pokemon cards he wanted.

In the end I found that walking away from blogging  gave me all the content and affirmation I had wanted to come back to writing. It is true what they say; letting something go is the surest way to know if it truly belongs to you. Blogging before  had been infused with an underlying desire for recognition, comments, likes, thumbs up..and whatever other incentives are in place to induce one to continue posting. In walking away, I was able to go back to the place where I once was. The place where I had enjoyed writing for writing alone.

I hope everyone takes time in their day to do what they like most.

I know I do.

4 thoughts on “Walking Away; The Best Way to Come Back

  1. “Blogging before had been infused with an underlying desire for recognition, comments, likes, thumbs up..and whatever other incentives are in place to induce one to continue posting. In walking away, I was able to go back to the place where I once was. The place where I had enjoyed writing…”
    Hi Suzie, awesome post! I agree with you. Accolades are not all bad. I think becoming a slave to kudos will most def get in the way of your creative juices. I like the walking away idea. It’s akin to taking a long walk when “it” all gets to be too much, then coming back home refreshed and clear headed. You get a chance to be mindful instead of mindfull, huh? Or maybe you get a fresher mind…full. Wait!…ehem. I think you get my gist?

Leave a Reply

